Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Updating a column (Oracle 10g Forms & Reports 6i)
Updating a column [message #507437] Sun, 15 May 2011 05:13 Go to next message
aijazsabir

Hello Experts!
Hope u all doing fine.
First of all let me clear u that I am a beginner.
i have two questions.
(1) how can i fill some value in a table column based on some existing column value automatically without user intervention. my actual problem is i have 'expiry date' column and 'status'. the 'status' column should get filled automatically based on the current system date. ex: if expiry date is '25-Apr-2011' and current date is '14-May-2011', then status should be filled as 'EXPIRED'

(2)hOw can i build 'select' query in a report (report 6i) so that it will show me list of items 'EXPIRED' or 'NOT EXPIRED' or both expired and not expired separately in a single report based on user choice. 'EXPIRED' & 'NOT EXPIRED' can be taken from the above question no. 1.

Please help me in this regard.

I will be thankful to one and all.
Re: Updating a column [message #507438 is a reply to message #507437] Sun, 15 May 2011 05:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ranamirfan

Dear,
1 - Create a procedure that 'll update your STATUS Column on the bases of Sysdate.
2 - Make a batch file.
3 - Run this batch file through Scheduled Tasks (Daily/weekly/Monthly).

4 - After Updation of Status Column you'll get your report based on EXPIRED / NON EXPIRED.

Hope you'll get idea.

Regards,
Irfan

Re: Updating a column [message #507440 is a reply to message #507437] Sun, 15 May 2011 05:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Oracle has an internal scheduler (even 2).
Use it to schedule the procedure mentioned by Irfan.
See DBMS_JOB.

A good book for you:
Database SQL Reference

Also, Please read OraFAQ Forum Guide.

Regards
Michel
Re: Updating a column [message #507449 is a reply to message #507440] Sun, 15 May 2011 10:00 Go to previous message