Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Comparing input in multi-record form, to previous entries (12.2.1.3.0)
Comparing input in multi-record form, to previous entries [message #685938] Fri, 29 April 2022 15:20 Go to next message
kkaschke
I am new to Oracle Forms. I'm currently working on a form that needs some validation and I'm unsure how to do this. I have a multi-row, multi-column form for inputting records to be inserted into a table. If the policy number currently exists in the table, the form pulls in the matching insured name. There can be multiple entries for the same insured in the form.

/forum/fa/14618/0/

However, if the record is new, then there is no matching insured name and the user must input the name manually.

What I need to do is perform some validation so that, if the user enters a name that doesn't match the new entry, forms will alert the user that the name doesn't match the previous entry for the new insured name.

I.E. 858585 currently exists so it pulls the name. 989898 doesn't exist so the user enters the name manually. A couple rows down the new entry is used again. When the name is typed, it must match the previous name entered with 989898.

I have attempted this by creating a POST-CHANGE trigger on the policy number. The logic is, if the policy number is not found, the insured name is left blank.
DECLARE
CURSOR cur_get_policy_nbr IS
SELECT mntrans.policy_nbr policy_nbr,
mntrans.insured_nm insured_nm

FROM mn_outstanding_trans mntrans

WHERE policy_nbr = :BL_MEMO_DTL.policy_nbr;

BEGIN

IF :BL_MEMO_DTL.policy_nbr IS NOT NULL THEN

OPEN cur_get_policy_nbr;
-- LOOP
FETCH cur_get_policy_nbr
INTO :BL_MEMO_DTL.policy_nbr,
:BL_MEMO_DTL.insured_nm;
IF cur_get_policy_nbr%NOTFOUND THEN
:BL_MEMO_DTL.insured_nm:= NULL;
else NULL;
END IF;

CLOSE cur_get_policy_nbr;

END IF;

:GLOBAL.POLCY_NBR:=:BL_MEMO_DTL.POLICY_NBR;
:GLOBAL.INSURED_NM:= :BL_MEMO_DTL.INSURED_NM;

END;