Home » Other » Client Tools » Test Stored Procedure in TOAD
Test Stored Procedure in TOAD [message #125647] Tue, 28 June 2005 08:07 Go to next message
jmhmaine
I've been using SQL Server for the last 5 years, and just getting back to using Oracle. I want to have test new and altered stored procedures from TOAD. With SQL Server, using Query Analyzer you can call:
exec storedprocName param1, param2

an the recordset is displayed. I recall that this can't be done in TOAD, that you have create a Cusor and line print to view the resultset. I tried creating test SQL but it is erroring out. Here is my code:

DECLARE rpt_cursor PK_TEST.refcur_Output;
resultset rpt_cursor%rowtype;
BEGIN
PK_TEST.sp_sel_status_by_id(1, 'Y', rpt_cursor);
FETCH rpt_cursor into resultset;
WHILE rpt_cursor%found LOOP
dbms_output.putline(resultset.site);
FETCH rpt_cursor into resultset;
END LOOP;
END;

It errors on the second line when I use %rowtype. Error message:
ORA-06550: line 2, column 13:
PLS-00320: the declaration of the type of this expression is incomplete or malformed
ORA-06550: line 2, column 13:
PL/SQL: Item ignored
ORA-06550: line 5, column 25:
PLS-00320: the declaration of the type of this expression is incomplete or malformed
ORA-06550: line 5, column 3:
PL/SQL: SQL Statement ignored
ORA-06550: line 7, column 27:
ORA-06550: line 7, column 7:
PL/SQL: Statement ignored
ORA-06550: line 8, column 28:
ORA-06550: line 8, column 6:
PL/SQL: SQL Statement ignored

Does anyone know how to make this SQL work, or have a better way of Testing a Stored Procedure within TOAD? Note, I don't have TOAD debugger, and would rather not open SQL*Plus. Thanks.
Re: Test Stored Procedure in TOAD [message #125693 is a reply to message #125647] Tue, 28 June 2005 14:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
andrew again
I prefer to run my code from sqlplus (from within Toad using SQL Editor > Execute SQL via SQL*Plus). But this should work fine on TOAD. You might need to manually turn dbms_output on.