Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » How to determine blocksize for new data warehouse?
How to determine blocksize for new data warehouse? [message #296957] Tue, 29 January 2008 11:59 Go to next message
DrNeko
Hello,
I'm currently upgrading an existing data warehouse (9i 32-bit on Windows 2000) to 10g (64-bit on Windows 2003 x64; it's a new server). I'm rather new to performance tuning, and I'm also new to the company I'm working. When I looked at the structure of the 9i data warehouse, it was set to the blocksize of 4K (I was told that was set by mistake)! Needless to say, I want to increase it when I migrate to 10g. My question is: Can I generate some stats on the 9i data warehouse help determine the blocksize? I was thinking to use 16K, but I can choose up to 64K. Thank you.
Re: How to determine blocksize for new data warehouse? [message #296995 is a reply to message #296957] Tue, 29 January 2008 20:16 Go to previous message
rleishman
I have read that 16Kb and 32Kb are the most common block sizes for reporting applications. I think Oracle reccommend 32Kb, but don't quote me on that.

The determining factor would be the profile of your queries:

- Do you want to optimise for ETL or for BI (user-queries)? Choose one.

- If you chose ETL, it performs a lot of bulk operations typically involving FTS and Hash joins. This would benefit from a larger block size. This assumes an ETL cycle no more frequent than daily. A near-real-time ETL will perform a lot of transactional updates benefiting from a smaller block size.

- If you chose BI, what is your BI platform? Do you have a ROLAP application accessing the database directly? Or do you build 3rd party OLAP cubes? The latter will perform big full scans to rebuild cubes, which again would benefit from a larger block size.